BOOK REVIEW – “Sugarcoatin is for Candy, and Pacifyin is for Kids!” by Nonnie Jules

Sugarcoatin is for Candy, and Pacifyin is for Kids!Sugarcoatin is for Candy, and Pacifyin is for Kids! by Nonnie Jules

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

SUGARCOATIN’ IS FOR CANDY & PACIFYIN’ IS FOR KIDS!: “Yes, I Said It!” by Nonnie Jules

A great book. A practical, no nonsense, how to get it done, how to ask for help, no excuses for “no”, read for “doing what needs to be done and doing it right”.

FIVE STARS * * * * *

Just a quick reminder – my rating system can be found here and I call it out because I want to outline, this is one of those rare books that is “An excellent, compelling, must read, that I could not put down and could see reading again someday.”

What I’ve come to realize reading this book is that it is a compilation of blog posts. I then decided to look at some of the other reviews; a couple were critical of this. I could write a fictitious blog about “The everyday life of Johnny Baker” and totally make every entry up. There would be an intro post, a body of topics and sub topics, and then a conclusion (or an endpoint). How are individual posts any different than chapters of a story? So with that, I dismissed any pretense and looked at the work for what it was.

Beyond that, this wasn’t a fictional story. This was more like a self-help guide and to me, while most of it was no nonsense information on writing, publishing, networking, and marketing (mainly), much of it could be translated into anything else in the world. Running a business. Living your life. Being a better citizen / parent / child / person.

I am highly favorable to writing like this because I live my life the same way. Don’t tell me “this is the way it’s always been done” or “there’s no other way to do it” because I will take a tablespoon and dig a ditch with it just to prove “that” point wrong.

I don’t believe in “over kindness.” I try to be nice and constructive with anything that requires critical assessment / feedback, but you’ll never hear me say “that’s ok – you’re the last winner of the race.” I’ll likely give you credit for sticking it out and finishing. I might even give you extra credit for running right into the end when everyone else already finished; it’s easy to say “that’s it, I’m beat, I’m going to walk over the line.” But when being blunt about things I will say “yeah… well… you WE’RE last.”

That should make it so that you either realize perhaps you’re not cut out for [THIS] OR that should drive you to do better at it.

That’s what this book does. It allows for critical self-assessment in a “no bones about it” and light-hearted manner. Because it could be a guide for anyone, anywhere, regarding just about anything, and something that you could read again / refer back to, it comes recommended from me with my highest rating.

I highly recommend “SUGARCOATIN’ IS FOR CANDY & PACIFYIN’ IS FOR KIDS!: “Yes, I Said It!”” by Nonnie Jules – * * * * * FIVE Stars (out of five)

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1224673069

http://www.amazon.com/review/R33EJ3QY6QY9BK

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

