The Ten Favorite Screen Character Blog Hop!

For this fast and fun blog hop, you name your ten favorite characters from movies or TV, then tag up to ten friends to do the same! It’s a nice little distraction (if you have the time for it) and it’ll drive traffic to your page / blog as people go around looking at the posts along the hop.

J.V. Carr tagged me for this fun blog via hers; check out her site for her ten interesting picks.

I’d say the following actors and actresses not only played a role I enjoyed in the following screen characters, but are also individuals I admire for various reasons.

Here are my ten favorite screen characters (in no particular order):

1) I realize that Hogarth Hughes is a cartoon character but the loose rules were “For this fast and fun blog hop, you name your ten favorite characters from movies or TV” and he is a favorite of mine. He was a young boy with an active imagination and became fast friends with the Iron Giant. He helped show the Giant that he “didn’t have to be a gun” and that he could choose what he wanted to be. “You are who you choose to be.” The Giant chooses “Superman” and saves Rockwell by sacrificing himself.
HHughes

2) Vito Corleone, played by Marlon Brando in the Godfather movies, is another favorite of mine simply because of the “family honor and power” that he portrayed in the movie. To me, he defined the mafia roles in TV and the movies.

godfather

3) With that, I suppose it only makes sense that I also like Tony Sopranos , played by James Gandolfini in The Sopranos, because to me he was the small screen version of Vito Corleone.

James-Gandolfini-HBO

4) With all the movie characters to choose from and with my huge background of loving the world of superheroes, it should come as no surprise that Clark Kent / Kal-El / Superman is another favorite of mine. Beyond the whole, “truth, justice, and American Way” thing (which the modern day films remove “American Way” because as it should be, Superman is a hero to the world) it is all about a stranger in a new world that he could easily rule over with an iron fist but where he chooses to live along side the people of Earth in an effort to show them that they too can be “super” themselves.

“They can be a great people, Kal-El; they wish to be. They only lack the light to show the way. For this reason above all, their capacity for good, I have sent them you… my only son” – no truer words were ever said; people just don’t understand that there are no limits to their own capacities if they choose to apply themselves.

superman

5) With the choices of different police characters to choose from Harry Callahan (Dirty Harry), played by Clint Eastwood, rises to the top. “I know what you’re thinking. “Did he fire six shots or only five?” Well to tell you the truth in all this excitement I kinda lost track myself. But being this is a .44 Magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world and would blow you head clean off, you’ve gotta ask yourself one question: “Do I feel lucky?” Well, do ya, punk?”

What more could be said?

dirty-harry-do-you-feel-lucky

6) Again headed back to my background of loving superheroes, the next one to my list has to be Steve Rogers  / Captain America. An everyday man, only looking to serve his country in World War II, he was continually shot down trying to enlist because of his frail and fragile physical make up until he was given the Super Soldier formula which transformed him into Captain America.

the captain

7) Back to “favorite cops” my list wouldn’t be complete without the inclusion of Martin Riggs, played by Mel Gibson. The crazy cop with nothing to lose (in the original Lethal Weapon) became immortal to me when the lead antagonist uttered “There’s no more heroes left in the world” and Riggs comes crashing through the door.

riggs

8) I only saw this movie once, a couple of years after it came out, (it was a 1993 release so if it was 1995 that was 20 years ago), but I never forgot the story of Daniel E. ‘Rudy’ Ruettiger as played by Sean Astin. I think it is high time for me to sit down to it again and this time, watch it with my kids.

gal-movies-rudy-jpg

9) As a fan of Star Trek I have to include James Tiberius Kirk as played by William Shatner. I think the following lines in Star Trek IV – The Voyage Home summed it up the best:

Kirk: On behalf of all of us Mr. President, I am authorized to plead guilty.

President: So entered. Because of certain mitigating circumstances, all charges but one are summarily dismissed. The remaining charge, disobeying orders of a superior officer, is directed solely at Admiral Kirk. I’m sure the admiral will recognize the necessity of keeping discipline in any chain of command?

Kirk: I do, sir.

President: James T. Kirk, it is the judgment of this council that you be reduced in rank to captain. And that as a consequence of your new rank, you be given the duties for which you have demonstrated unswerving ability, the command of a starship. Captain Kirk, you and your crew have saved this planet from its own short-sightedness, and we are forever in your debt.

There is a favorite meme of mine for Kirk and it is below.

kirk

10) At number 10 I give you Dr. Henry Walton “Indiana” Jones, Jr., as played by Harrison Ford. The guy is 70 years old in 2015 and he crashes a plane on a Los Angeles golf course and lives to talk about it. He was injured, but is expected to make a full recovery. I am willing to bet if it was ten years ago he would have played nine holes waiting for the NTSB to show up.

Indiana-Jones-and-the-Raiders-of-the-Lost-Ark-Wallpapers

Up next (if you dare to play the game) – consider yourselves tagged to play along!
Sara Hathaway @SaraHathaway19
BLOG / Author Page http://www.authorsarafhathaway.com/

Dennis Cardiff @DennisCardiff
BLOG / Author Page https://gottafindahome.wordpress.com/

Sharon Syleste The Scribe’s Library

Tamie Dearen @TamieDearen
BLOG / Author Page http://tamiedearen.weebly.com/

Marc Estes @Vendicatori33
BLOG / Author Page http://estesmarcw.wix.com/author-page

Traci Sanders @tmsanders2014
BLOG / Author Page http://awordwithtraci.com/

Marlena Hand @mlh42812
BLOG / Author Page https://mylife428.wordpress.com/

C. Salem @CSalem11
BLOG / Author Page https://cassidysalem.wordpress.com/

Jade St Clair @Scatterbooker
BLOG / Author Page https://scatterbooker.wordpress.com/

Sarah Stuart @sasspip
BLOG / Author Page http://www.rebeccabrynandsarahstuart-novels.co.uk/blog/

2 thoughts on “The Ten Favorite Screen Character Blog Hop!

    • It’s one of those fun distractions; makes your mind switch gears and all. I am hoping every I tagged get’s the chance to do it (but I also understand if time doesn’t allow for it).

      Like

Leave a Reply

